POETRY | SELF-REFLECTION

Live Like You Own It!

A moment of life generally taken for granted.

Denise Darby
2 min readOct 18, 2023

--

A traveller puts his head under the edge of the firmament in the original (1888) printing of the Flammarion wood engraving. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flammarion_engraving

You scared yourself when you laughed at our plight as I relished in your easiness.

The piquancy of Hope thwarted, slapped for its appearance.

What does Joy do but recoil and resist in the wake of a never ending battle?

Shall I refrain from judgment and honor the moment? How do I love and let go?

Who the hell said it? The thing about solitude. That you can only love another if you embrace aloneness. Rilke, I think…the depth of solitude that one must know to love and not possess.

If I can stand alone, complete in my existence, I love without attachment, unconditional.

I think I am attempting the impossible.

The veil between this and that is ever so thin. Who am I to…

--

--